Modern-day parenting and the effect on kids

Moderately insufferable soapbox moment - stick with me here. I'll let the caption with the picture stand by itself and this post is in response to that caption. You can chase down the Atlantic story behind the paywall if you wish but it's not necessary to understand my comment.

As a pediatric dentist, I see kids and parents at their most stressed, and over the course of the last 15 years, I've seen a sharp decline in the general coping skills of kids. I'm GenX and was a latchkey kid from 1st grade on because both of my parents worked FT. I had an older brother and sister around but my childhood was A LOT of time consisting of me being left to my own devices to "figure it out". How to feed myself. How to fix my bike. How to navigate great distances on my bike and return home safely. My parents were rarely around for these things and I'm not complaining. I think the "freedom" of my childhood was awesome. Was there a higher degree of unsafety and are there better ways to parent? Sure, and I'm not advocating that parents not be involved in their kids' lives but we as a society constantly infantilize our children treating them like they are fragile and helpless. Parents today conflate their children’s success with their success and their children’s failures with their failures. These parenting practices lead to a pseudo-Munchausen by proxy-like parenting style where parents unknowingly cripple their children’s development and coping skills so they can direct every aspect of their children’s lives under constant supervision, swoop in to be the hero who knocks down the barrier or makes some wrong right, so the parent can be the center of attention.

These practices are of course a disservice to our children and it is leading to older teens and young adults who have no problem-solving skills, no coping skills, who are crippled by anxiety and depression, and who remain dependent on mommy and daddy dearest.