Which new car for my sister

Status
Not open for further replies.
My dad is buying one of my sisters a new car and left it up to me what to get her since I'm a mechanic (semi) by profession.
She is driving a well worn 94' Camry. She lives alone, her kids are grown and doesn't need anything large.
The car needs to be reliable so she can make it to the clinic 6 days a week. Lives in Toledo and deals with snow every winter.
But they do a good job clearing the main roads when it snows. She can drive a stick, but I'm not sure if she would like it.
Dad said it has to be new and would prefer to keep it under $25k. I'm not sure whats out there.

A safe, reliable car would be good. There are many new toyotas that fit that bill for under 25k. A 2017 Prius Two would do it, for example. A Camry too.

Toyota RAV4 AWD, if that meets the price point.
Perfect entry height to get in and out of as well. Sedans can get ergonomically challenging as we age.
Standard port injection, lengthy OCI as per Toyota requirements and reliability at least as good as any other brand.
The Hondas, and Mazda's of the world drive me a little crazy with their frequent maintenance requirements.
Ford is not on my radar with their ecobooost motors - look good on paper but eco is just not there.
GM = no thanks
Dodge = no thanks

Last edited:
Miles per year? Hybrid might be nice but if it's low miles, why bother? CUV vs sedan, different seating position. Kids may be grown up and gone, but does she need 4 doors and a large trunk anymore?