Should I use the OLM monitor?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys new to this board. So glad to see I'm not the only one who loves to change their own oil. My question, I have a 03 Saturn L200 w/ the eco-tec motor. I now have 60K on the clock, I used Mobil 5000 for the first 50K and switched to Mobil 1 5w-30, at 50k. I drained the M1 at 55K and 60K, I have let the light do its thing and it always comes on at 7500 miles. I am a traveling salesman averaging 1k a week. I plan on keeping this car until I hit 150K-200K. The main reason I switched to M1 is because of the starting and stopping that I do on a daily basis. I probaly crank and turn off the motor ten times a day. I have sent off a UOA and will wait for the results. Thanks for your help.

Brian

I think you should see what the lab says.

More than likely, if you requested an opinion on extending the drain, they will tell you to stretch it another 1k miles.

You probably want to do 2-3 UOA over the next 4-6 drains and see what they say. You have to have a baseline.

Mobil 1 is one of the most respected synthetics. I think you will be fine.

My buddy has an '01 Monte. He was ding 6 month changes with M1 at about 3k miles.

His only analysis showed fuel dilution. He says he's going to use the OLM now and see what happens.

I liked the semi-annual changes.

quote:

Originally posted by thooks:

Mobil 1 is one of the most respected synthetics. I think you will be fine.

Yeah, you can also run 25K OCIs and your motor will always be quite and smooth.
lol.gif

Following the OLM with M1 would be a very conservative plan IMO. I personally wouldn't even bother with UOA in that case.

quote:

Should I use the OLM monitor?

If you are keeping the vehicle until the day it dies of old age... No! Reason-being is that the engine will reach old age filth & old age wear faster using the OLM.

Otherwise --- should you be like most folks who sell it at around 100K .... then yes - use it!