Transition from Minivan to bigger Mid-sized SUV

So we’re looking at transitioning from a 2011 Toyota Sienna to a mid sized, but as big as possible, SUV.

We travel with 2 kids and a dog, but use up every bit of our Sienna’s cargo area when vacationing / camping (tent camping). This is partially due to bringing the dog, and too much stuff every time. Wife thinks she can begin minimizing our stuff, as our kids are getting a little older (elem. school aged).

Thinking of multiple mid size but bigger SUVs and wondering if I’m missing anything, and/or what anyones opinions are on some of these.

Our short list now is:

Kia Telluride / Hyundai Palisade
Toyota Highlander
Toyota 4 Runner
Subaru Ascent

I am a mechanic, but out of the real / dealer world now so I’m not that knowledgeable on new stuff. I maintain my own vehicles (to this day, completely, but they are getting so high tech that I know I can’t completely repair them), but serviceability is a factor to me.

Any advice or other options we should consider is appreciated.

Is anyone getting new vehicles under MSRP yet? I see some of our local dealers are advertising over MSRP still, while some are advertising no markups.

The only vehicle in your list that the market is anywhere near soft for is the Ascent. However-Subaru thinks each one of their cars is special so I don't know about getting a deal. The Ascent has been plagued with issues-and IS NOT Subarus best effort. There was a recent thread on here about the 4Runner-it IS NOT a great family vehicle.

You will pay dearly for the other SUVs you mentioned. As stated on here NUMEROUS TIMES recently, it's a terrible time to buy a new vehicle. Unless the mini van is ready to self destruct...WAIT!!!

The Buick Enclave used to be the best Minivan Replacement. I don't have any experience with the latest generation.

Around here you can get a discount if you order and wait.