service writers lie and pretend to know stuff

Status
Not open for further replies.
I used to be a mechanic. Big deal. Sometimes there's a problem or a job that exceeds my capacity at my house, and it has to be done by someone else.

In the dealership the mechanics (aka "technicians") are insulated from the public (really the other way around probably) by a layer of scum called the "service writers."

Presumably it's because the grubby mechanics aren't expected to have great customer service skills. That's fine.

But then the service writers start trotting out what they think are sage little nuggets of knowledge like the piston destruction "probably happened on the intake stroke." I'll ask "what about the power stroke?" And he'll say "it had to have happened while the piston was traveling downward because all the parts ended up in the oil pan." (I guess this guy skipped gravity and only studied momentum. Not to mention that the largest stress is put on the piston at combustion)

Once my gf had her Camry at a totally different stealership and the service writer told me that her car didn't have a coil. (The spark coil). I admittedly had never looked under her hood at the time so I asked, oh, so it's one of those designs with separate coil packs then? He stood his ground and said no coils at all.

I said "let's walk out to the car together so you can show me what's wrong" and as soon as we get there, I interrupt him, point to the coil, and ask him, "what's that?"

I didn't even wait for his response, I told gf that we're calling AAA and getting the car towed somewhere people don't LIE TO YOUR FACE.

Lately, in order to hopefully save them the embarrassment, I'll tell them ahead of time that I'm a mechanic. I just don't have the time/tools/space/manpower to do this job. EVEN THEN they just can't help themselves. It's almost like now they are rising to the challenge.