High School Reunions - Generational thing?

This year will be 25 years since I graduated HS.

While noticing this, I recall the time they tried organizing a 10 year reunion...and it failed.
Then they tried again at the 20 year mark in 2018, that attempt also failed (according to the one person I graduated with).
If anything, I'd guess the quarter century would be worth celebrating...but probably not.
I checked with the graduating class after mine (1999) and their reunion also didn't materialize.

Is it just me, or were these things more popular with older generations?

No idea--I decided long ago I wasn't going back. I think initially I held some grudges, now I wouldn't mind knowing how some made out in life, but honestly, I moved on--and so did they. I've not kept touch with anyone from grade or high school, nor college.

I feel a bit sad at times, but, life moves on.

Now maybe if I had kept in touch with a number of them, and hadn't moved miles away, maybe I'd feel different, dunno.

Graduated in 93, and from what I saw hanging near the checkout counter in a local Blockbuster video, they tried to do a 10 year. I have no idea if it went off or not. Never heard about a 20 and highly doubt I'll hear about a 30 this year.

I don't care either way, I wasn't friends with them then, and don't give a toss about them now.

Last edited:
I went to a high school in a small town but it served the entire area so there were maybe 1000 students total - all 4 grades. They held a reunion at some point for sorta everyone. It was kind of a anyone that graduated 10 years or more ago can come, not just certain years. I guess it worked out - so I was told - at least people showed up, but it is a small town with not much going on.

My dad had graduated from the same school years earlier. He didn't go either and he still lives there, so not sure it is generational. Your either into that sorta thing or not.