Drain and refill fluid substitute for Toyota WS?

I’m new to the world of servicing automatic transmissions. I just bought a 2009 Scion with the U241E four-speed auto. It has 120k miles and I think it’s time for new fluid. The manual specs Toyota WS fluid, which is $$$. For the final fill I will likely use Valvoline Maxlife but I want to do several short interval drains before the final fill. Rural King sells a Dexron 3 equivalent fluid at $27 for a two gallon jug so I could potentially circle a whole bunch of fluid through cheaply. Walmart sells their Supertech Dexron 6 for $20 a gallon. Is either any better or worse for a short interval fill?

Or should I just spend the extra bucks and use Maxlife for the whole thing? Does it matter? Am I overthinking this?

Instead of using lower cost ATF fluid and change in multiple short intervals, just use the recommended fluid and change every 40k-50k. It meets your cost saving objective, save time especially if there is no dipstick, guarantee quality, and you don’t waste ATF.

There are some school of thoughts that any tranny not serviced within 100k mile should be left alone unless the current owner know it wasn’t neglected or abused. The car is 15 years old and may be in original ATF. Take a few drops sample after a drive to see if it is brown or with burnt smell.

I recommend you just pay the money and purchase Toyota WS, I have seen multiple times where using multi-vehicle ATF has caused issues in Toyota WS transmissions.

Most recent service interval was 60K with WS. Fluid was still cherry red (not says that’s definitive in any way).

I have used the Aisin type WS. I suspect they're the maker of the Toyota branded WS. That was a few years ago, but Rock Auto had a decent price at that time. Beck/Arnley also sells a WS for less $.

Is WS really that expensive?

I changed over to HPL in my Tundra, which specs WS. The AMSOIL worked well, the HPL works well, and I do a complete change, which in the truck takes 14 quarts.