GS430 Toyota WS transmission oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone!

I'm looking to drain and fill my transmission oil in my gs430 2006 and as I'm from the UK, genuine Toyota WS fluid is more expensive than using alternatives that state they are 'compatible' with WS fluid.

Here I it is almost £15 a litre and I believe it requires 3-4 drain and fills to mostly clear out the old fluid. Which would mean I would have to buy 4 litres each time I do a drain and fill. Almost £60 each time I service it.

I've recently bought the car and it requires a few more things to do and also being a full time student, I'm doing most the stuff myself. So I've found an alternative that states it is compatible with Toyota WS but mainly lists itself as a Mecron LV and Dexron VI ATF, it is a mannol company oil. It is much cheaper and I could buy 8 litres for £32. Whereas 8l of genuine ws would be £120.

I'm a bit skeptical of it as some people say to just use WS genuine nothing else but some people are fine with using alternatives.

Can I use this type of oil? By the way it is not an approved WS oil it just lists Toyota WS at the back.

Thank you guys

An alternative if you can find it is Aisin WS. That is what I am using in my Toyota with a U660E transaxle. Aisin is a manufacturer of transmissions for many makes including Toyota (though maybe not all their transmissions). If Aisin is making some of the transmissions for Toyota that use Toyota WS then I figure Aisin should know what is required to make the fluid that goes into those transmissions. Aisin is also partly owned by Toyota, so they have very close ties to each other.

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply, unfortunately the Aisin WS oil is also the same price from what I've found too.

And bluphuper, I've had a look at the forum but I feel the general consensus on there is that Toyota WS is the one to choose. Especially with how much cheaper it is overseas (I'm in the uk and a full time student).