2018 Lexus 2018 GX 460 Salvage- two buyers that had to have it

GON

$100 Site Donor 2024
Yesterday, a 2018 Lexus GX 470 Luxury edition went up for auction as a salvage title in Seattle. State Fram owns the car, states the car is worth 39k at retail (undamaged) and has 37k in damage. I studied the car and came to the conclusion that from a visual standpoint, the is not a deep structural damage. But that is without pealing back the onion.

I did research as to how 37k of damage. Speculation on my part came down to high tech electronics. This SUV had all the safety bells and whistles, like a camara and a radar in the front grille, etc. Not a lot of these SUV with this option made, so a lot of (speculation) highly costly parts. A visual inspection shows needs condenser, air conditioner line, etc. I have no idea why the rear bumper was pulled. Bottom line, used parts will be very hard to find for this model.

As the car was close to me, decided to see if I could snag it. My limit was 14k. I was the high " pre bid" winner until a few minutes before pre-bid closed, then I was "beat". That was wacky. I went to work, and noticed pre bid then went all the way to 23k, Wow.

I watched the auction on this SUV. A bidder from NJ and a bidder from Armenia battled it out. Winning Bid: $25,475.00. With fees before shipping about 28k. WOW. Shipping to NJ, likely 2k. Shipping to Armenia, beats me but I suspect at least 3k. This is why auctions get so crazy, and Sellers love auctions. Two people that "get into it", and over pay, and overpay like crazy. I watched these two bidders go back and forth. On a car I suspect neither ever saw in person or inspected, and that the Seller disclosed has 37k in damage.

resizer (7).jpg
resizer (10).jpg
resizer (9).jpg
resizer (8).jpg
resizer (6).jpg
resizer (5).jpg
resizer (5).jpg
resizer (4).jpg
resizer (3).jpg
resizer (3).jpg
resizer (2).jpg

@GON With as much as you bid on auction cars, have I got a podcast episode for you.