Who has a car that does not use oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ls1mike

$50 Site Donor 2024
I read all the stuff on here about oil consumption. I was wondering who has anything that does not consume/burn any oil.

I have to say I am very surprised the Malibu does not use any. I am doing 4500 to 5000 miles oil changes on it.
The 02 2500HD does not use a drop either. That gets a change every 4000 miles or once a year. Only 4000 because it spends most of it's life towing.

The Trans Am uses about 1/2 quart every 3000 miles.

Not sure about the Caprice yet. One oil change at 5000 miles of use it was still full.

My 2000 Subaru Forester, my 2007 Mazda CX7 and my 2014 Mazda CX5 don't use more than a 3-5MM on the dipstick between 6,000 mile oil changes using the factory recommended viscosity oil. If an engine is used as a normal daily driver, I'd think I have a defective engine if I had to add oil during the max OCI recommended by the manufacture or 7,500 miles.

My Tundra seems to go the full 10kmiles without using any, or none that I can see.

I think my Camry might have been a half qt low at the end of its last 10k.
frown.gif
Eh, that's not that bad, just something I need to keep an eye on. But I decided to bump to xW30, and am starting to toy with shorter OCI's--not aware of the 2AR-FE having ring problems, but it wouldn't be the first Toyota to do so.

My GM / Opel / Holden Astra (AH) has sat bang on the full line for 4 years and 40,000km with 4 oil changes.

My Honda CBR 600 motorcycle never needed a top up in 10 years and 100,000km of riding.

Last edited: