Redline 5w40 BMW M2 S55

Basic run of UOAs, missing one there 18 and 26 k but it was also changed at 22k and again at 26. Results were all very similar. My main curiousity on the oil argument when it comes down to Redline and Motul 8100, is that mainly a cost based argument for street use?

Attachments

• UOAm2.jpg
    UOAm2.jpg
    164 KB · Views: 374
Thank you so much for posting. I have been considering Red Line 5W-40 for a while now for our 2017 Santa Fe, which allows (and likes) 5W-40 motor oil. However, I was concerned that it was a bit too thick, considering it's Red Line.

Before I comment further about your UOAs, I want to ask: are all the samples Red Line 5W-40?

Thank you so much for posting. I have been considering Red Line 5W-40 for a while now for our 2017 Santa Fe, which allows (and likes) 5W-40 motor oil. However, I was concerned that it was a bit too thick, considering it's Red Line.

Before I comment further about your UOAs, I want to ask: are all the samples Red Line 5W-40?
Yes, all changes since the factory fill have been Redline

Basic run of UOAs, missing one there 18 and 26 k but it was also changed at 22k and again at 26. Results were all very similar. My main curiousity on the oil argument when it comes down to Redline and Motul 8100, is that mainly a cost based argument for street use?
Your 15,000 mile sample is of interest because it shows significantly more fuel + thickening, which we saw with another BMW engine in another thread. This is typically oxidation.

Would you be willing to consider using another lab that properly measures fuel?

Your 15,000 mile sample is of interest because it shows significantly more fuel + thickening, which we saw with another BMW engine in another thread. This is typically oxidation.

Would you be willing to consider using another lab that properly measures fuel?