Oil for 1987 Jaguar 5.3L V12

jagdriver727

Site Donor 2021
I’ll admit that I’m not an expert on these. What I do know, is I just recently got an ‘87 XJ-S with the 5.3L HE V12 and it has a jiffy lube sticker in the windshield calling for 5W-30 conventional and that is not even close to what it needs.

If somebody with some experience with these engines could chime in, I’d appreciate it. If I had to guess at it, I’d be going with a 15W-40 or a 20W-50 but I’m unsure what specs or properties to look out for.

It's 20W-50 traditionally over here for the most part. With today's oils there really should be options of course, the "need" stems from a sixties perspective. Our '87 XJ never saw anything but 20W-50. It's gone now, otherwise I'd downgrade, but for Florida wil be okay anyway.

Not regarding oils, but as new to them in general: With this car you should look out for Kirby Palm's book download, XJS-help-in-a-book, or so. That's been an interesting link even with the XJ then. I think that's where I heard about the HE centrifugal advance oil first. Just a drop, but could be vital.

Last edited:
Many British car of that era, when in good condition without too many leaks (haha) were calling for 10W30 or 10W40, with some exceptions like the Mini and its shared gearbox.
I have no idea about Jaguar and this V12 engine (tried to source a manual online but was mostly unsuccessful), I'd say a 15W50/20W50 look good for Florida. M1 15W50 would probably get my vote.

Looks like you can get 20w50 Castrol GTX high mileage for $17 for 5qts at Amazon or Wallyworld, or you can get individual quarts of Valvoline MAxlife 20w50 at Napa for $5.

Looks like you can get 20w50 Castrol GTX high mileage for $17 for 5qts at Amazon or Wallyworld, or you can get individual quarts of Valvoline MAxlife 20w50 at Napa for $5.

I noticed this this morning at wal mart. I have like 50 gallons of GTX 20w50 from Autozone making it $6/5quart jug last winter