Direct Inject Turbo car with 125k miles and short commute, what's best?

I've gone around in circles trying to figure this out. I've got a 2012 Mazdaspeed3 and I'm trying to figure out an oil that will keep her going as long as possible. It's a turbo with direct injection, 125k on the clock. I've read about dexos2 or 'euro' oils being better. My current commute is about 10 miles so more short'ish trips with 1-2 longer trips per week. Yearly mileage estimate from last car is 10k a year. I'm new at this. Have had several older beat up cars that it was just 'whatever in spec on sale' was what they got.

Last edited:
whats a "1012 Mazdaspeed3" typo?
Is it tuned?
Consider reading the forums there are about 100 posts on this
@kschachn probably keeps a list of threads on his clipboard.

Yes, a typo, fixed sorry. Not tuned. Intake/exhaust and a motor mount. And yes, I've been around and around in Speed forums, with approximately 12 different suggestions from a bunch of people who probably know much about their cars in general so I thought I'd try with people who geek out about oil.

Welcome to the site!

The reason you're going "around in circles" is because you presume there to be one single "best" lube. This is a false presumption. There is no perfect, "best" oil for every application. There are many good oils that will meet the needs of your engine in your specific application. Please don't fall into the mindset that there's a "best" oil; that's a common misconception in the general public, and even many noobs here.

Pick a good oil that meets/exceeds the specs for your engine (of which there are a lot of them), and shift your worry to something else in life.

Welcome to the site!