0w20 vs 0w30 in my Dodge Challenger V-6?

I'm new to BITOG and I love it!
Thank you all for sharing your personal experiences in this forum.
Is there any wisdom in using 0w30 in my 2020 Dodge Challenger V-6 during our Arizona summer?
I've recently read that the thinness of the 0w30 might be "better" during STARTUP as it flows throughout the engine and that it might circulate more efficiently before reaching "Normal" operating temperatures, where then it will offer better protection from Summer heat.

Of course, my oil cap says 5w-20.

Thoughts?
Am I losing my mind?

What about 0w-20 versus 5w-20? I thought your mind was set?

Pages 251 and 252 of your owner's manual: https://cdn.dealereprocess.org/cdn/servicemanuals/dodge/2020-challenger.pdf

1652979236263.jpg

You can use 5W-30 if 5W-20 is not available or you don't want to.

Per their verbiage, the oil you use has to either meet and exceed MS-6396 or have the API Starburst on the bottle, but not both. This allows owners to use engine oils that are not API licensed as long as they meet MS-6395.

And I actually talked about this with my dealershio, and they okayed me using Red Line 0W-20 in my Durango. I live in NC, and it's hot outside right now. Not Arizona hot, but it's hot. I would use 5W-30 in a hearbeat if my owner manual would allow it. I can see my Oil Pressure drop to 27 PSI while idling, with Red Line, when it's hot and I'm sitting in traffic.

The selection for 0W-30 is slim, so I would just use 5W-30 in your climate. PUP/PP 5W-30, Mobil 1 EP 5W-30 (or vanilla), Castrol EDGE EP 5W-30 is a good option (it's based on a MB 229.71 approved oil), well pretty much any 5W-30 you want you can run in your climate in your engine.

Also, you wouldn't benefit from 0W-30 in your hot climate, not even for startup.

I'm just surveying the wisdom of this forum. I'm amazed at the options and "science" of motor oil. So many things to consider.

This might be as good as it gets concerning this particular opinion.