0w40 SP Mobil 1 in TGDI engines???

I’ve been doing a lot of research since my 2020 Edge 2.0 TGDI hit 70,000+ miles. From everything I’ve seen it appears that thinner oil on startup is better for the turbo. So, for winter I’m using 0w30 which seems good so far, but for summer I’ve used 5w30.

I’m strongly considering Mobil 1 SP 0w40 in summer. My thought is that the zero gets to the turbo faster and the forty gives better protection at 70,000 miles.

I guess I’m a bit confused about forty messing with the VVT.

I may be overthinking this whole issue but overall the 0w40 SP makes good sense to me. Advice?

I'm sure you'll get a lot of feedback on this question.

In this video by Pat Goss titled "Choosing the correct engine oil is critical to engine life with Pat Goss from Goss Garage" ( https://bit.ly/2khKNi7 ), Pat says that (too) thick oil will "dam up" behind parts (at appx. 3:00 minutes into the video). He seems to infer that your oil won't be protecting your engine if you're not using the OEM recommended oil.

Ed

I’ve been doing a lot of research since my 2020 Edge 2.0 TGDI hit 70,000+ miles. From everything I’ve seen it appears that thinner oil on startup is better for the turbo. So, for winter I’m using 0w30 which seems good so far, but for summer I’ve used 5w30.

I’m strongly considering Mobil 1 SP 0w40 in summer. My thought is that the zero gets to the turbo faster and the forty gives better protection at 70,000 miles.

I may be overthinking this whole issue but overall the 0w40 SP makes good sense to me. Advice?
VVT is Variable Valve Timing?

Unless your summer temps are significantly below zero, the winter rating of the oil is not going to have any impact on oil flow. You’ll be looking purely at the viscosity of the oil at whatever your startup temps are, and unless you’re beating on the engine before it’s warmed up there’s nothing to see here.