Which engineering job should I take?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Shannow
Going to post starting out biased, but even as a graduate, I was going to be sitting in front of CAD, I'd quickly find a way to strangle myself with a mouse cord...maybe that's why they invented mouse cords....

No... that's why they have cordless mice.
grin.gif

I like the second option. More varied work. Good exposure to the various equipment the company makes. Hands-on, always a plus. Whip their test area into shape and see where the job takes you.

You are going to be incredibly valuable, due to your background.

Of course, you know I'm going to say Aviation, as that's my field. It captivated me in a way that was incredible. The "cool" components, the "neat" stuff, the incredible engineering were all factors to me. And, they clearly were not available "all in one place" in any other field I had an interest in. But, more than that, aviation is a very harsh environment, intolerant of error and the engineering must be superb. Head and shoulders above my previous job in turbocharged engine design.

Put another way, what works on a car fails miserably on aircraft.

To me, aviation closely meets the human dream of going somewhere instantly. Today, we complain about 4 or 5 hour flights across the country. 100 years ago, it was a week long train ride. 200 years back a long trip took seasons.

Wednesday, I flew our Pilatus PC-12 from one job site to another. I tried to keep the flight below 5 minutes, and came really close. The clock ticked over 5 minutes, seconds before I landed. Driving would have been at least 45 minutes. To me, that's "cool". And that's what good engineering is all about.

Here is me at work:

http://cujet.com/html/work.html

Some good engineering:

Chris_under_engine_resize_burn.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks everybody for the advice. There's a lot to chew on here.