VW GTI 2.0T TSI Engine Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone just purchased a 2013 VW GTI with the TSI motor and really enjoy this car. I actually can say its one of the best cars I have owned thus far. The build quality and the overal practicality along with a shot of performance its just a great combo.

here is a photo for you guys and gals to tell me what you think
smile.gif

http://i1223.photobucket.com/albums/dd502/jeffs2006evoix/vwgti_zpse957df4f.jpg[/IMG]]2013 VW GTI

So let me get into why I am posting. I had very little knowledge about the 2.0T TSI motor in this GTI before buying it. I have been driving Lancer EvO's since 2003 so I am not new to turbo charged cars, but this car is just different than my 4G63's im used to.

I have found that this Direct Injection Motor in the VW may have its good and bad sides and I need help from folks here that may have some VW experience or just the 2.0T TSI experiene. I do know that the TSI is the updated version of the FSI. In 2008.5 they switched to the TSI. Now, the DI technology seemed like a beautiful thing, it cools the intake charge of the engine so compression ratios can be upped, and its more fuel efficent. The bad I have recently been reading is they tend to carbon up. Now how long until this actually occurs is pure speculation and is subjective since everyone drives and takes care of their cars differetnly. So now I am thinking, ok, how do I beat this from happening? The manual specs for "Top Tier" Gas and that is really a wash because most fuels these days, especially in California where I live are so full of Ethanol and other ingredients to make the cars produce less smog almost all gas in CA can be considered "Top Tier", but for sank of arguement I have been using Shell V Power, or Chevron, Texaco, 76, all of which are labelded "Top Tier" so that is a check.