UOA on M1 0w40

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is a partial oil analysis as I couldn't wait till 25k miles to put in the German Castrol 0w30. So the averages are scewed. However, It seems they have taken that in to account to a degree with their comments on my analysis.
Interestingly, the iron wear seems to be on course to reach average given the reading and mileage on the vehicle at the time (23553mi). I don't see anything in the report that would give me a clue to the engine noise my engine produces.
Which, by the way, has completely vanished since switching to the GC oil. I know the mileage is low for the analysis. Since then I have put about 700+ miles on the car with the GC.
I had mentioned high iron wear mentioned by other 1.8T owners using M1 0w40. This is the first UOA on this car, so I have no first hand knowledge of this symptom.

-

Anyone see anything that would produce a piston slap/wrist pin type noise on my engine with the M1? BTW, since installing the GC 700 miles ago the engine is as quiet as a sleeping baby. I have to look at the tach to tell if it is running. But I am concerned about possible lower MPG. But my engine really is unacceptably noisey with the M1 0w40.

Hi,
slickfisher - the report is excellent and shows the worth of this great product. It is not the most popular factory fill synthetic for nothing

I have tried M1 0w-40 in the following three engine families and they were all noisy at start up;
1 - Subaru Outback 2.5ltr EJ25 engine
2 - BMW Z3 2.8ltr M52 engine
3 - MB M271 1.8ltr Supercharged
(consumption nil, projected ASSYST monitored OCI is 20kkms - 12kmiles)

The Subaru and BMW were also noisy on M1 10w-30

The noise is disconcerting but totally harmless. The benefits of using such lubricants outweight the "physcological" factors especially with VANOS,phasers, timing chains and etc.
While I don't like the startup noise in the Benz it will remain on M1 0w-40 for "life"