STP Oil filters

Status
Not open for further replies.
I usually get my oil changed at TiresPlus (owned by Firestone). They use STP oil filters. Are these good, bad? Where do they fit in? I plan on doing an AutoRX treatment when I get my oil changed, and want a good filter. They said I can bring my own filter and oil if I want. I have done research here and will go with a Wix or NAPA gold if the STP is not very good.

Several years ago I hauled several loads of filters for Champion Laboratories. They make about 60% of the oil filters made in the USA. I talked to a fellow that did the testing for burst pressure, flow rate, restriction, and I don't remember what else. I asked him which one he used, it was STP. the filters were to each brands specifications.

Charlie For got to say I'm a truck driver.

I have used the STP filters and I've cut them open afterwards. They seem to be built well but they suffer the same issues that many other filters suffer. The pleats are always unevenly spaced at the point where the media is joined and the media seemed awfully thin to me. The thin media may not be a issue though. The STP canisters are nice and thick and this gives the feeling of a strong and well built housing.

I have never seen a STP filter fail even after 10,000 miles on a engine. In comparison I have seen Fram filters have holes in their media and the media be torn where the uneven spacing has allowed bridging of the media and the oil pressure would tear the pleats. The thin STP media has stayed together nicely even during the extended drains while the Fram has deteriorated to the point of disintegration when left on a engine too long.