Running a two stroke at 60:1 or 70:1

So I bought a Sthil gas leaf blower. The exhaust is out out in front so you kind of walk into to it. I ran it a few minutes using Echo Red Armor as that's what I had, but it left me stinking like exhaust.

Maybe use what I already have and go with a 60:1 or 70:1 mix?

I'm not going going electric. Any another off shelf oil suggestions?

I think the red armor oil smells bad and it makes my eyes burn as well. I've been using Husqvarna XP+ for the last 4 years and the exhaust doesn't bother me and my wife doesn't complain about the smell either.

Whatever you do just keep using 50:1.

You can try and will have best luck getting rid of the pump fuel and using a engineerd fuel. If it were me I’d try a can of VPracing fuel and I bet it will solve that problem. Full disclosure I run C9 VPracing fuel in all my 2stroke equipment blended with VPracing 2t oil at 40:1 Sthil Husky Echo it don’t matter it gets same fuel.

I have a +20-year-old Echo 2-stroke leaf blower that has hundreds and hundreds (if not thousands) of hours on it and I've never done any maintenance (original carb, original sparkplug, I leave 9-month-old fuel in it with no additives) and I run 50:1 with whatever I find at the store when I need a new bottle of 2-stroke oil. Decades of neglect and abuse and it just starts right up year after year.

Again, the less oil used, the more wear the engine experiences. 32 to 1 is about the sweet spot for wear/performance/operational issues.

Testing of even lightly loaded engines show wear accelerates as oil is reduced. The idea that one can use 100 to 1 with a "concentrated oil" (more viscous) is utterly in error. Does it work, of course, it's enough to prevent seizure. It's not enough to get maximum engine life.