RUGER SP101 .357 Mag

Status
Not open for further replies.
Took the advice given from my previous post about the S & W Sigma series and just bought a new revolver--a Ruger SP101 .357 Mag with a 3" barrel ($449.00)---does anyone have any experience with or knowledge of this gun? It seems very well made and feels very good in my hand. My next question---would I be better off with +P .38 special loads (Cor-Bon +P .38 spl 125 gr JHP) or low recoil .357 loads like the Remington Medium Velocity 125 gr JHP or a lighter, faster 110 grain JHP? I have no experience firing .357 Mags, just .38 specials, so I'm concerned about recoil/accuracy. (the gun is for home defense only) Thanks!

Try a box of each and find out what works for you. If .357 is too much step down to .38 +P then .38. Its better to have a load you can hit with than the best one on earth.

Last edited by a moderator:
Dry fire every night to smooth out the trigger, as suggested above I'd try both and see which one I could shoot more accurately with and also measure how fast I can take follow-up shots.

Originally Posted By: MADMIKE
Took the advice given from my previous post about the S & W Sigma series and just bought a new revolver--a Ruger SP101 .357 Mag with a 3" barrel ($449.00)---does anyone have any experience with or knowledge of this gun? It seems very well made and feels very good in my hand. My next question---would I be better off with +P .38 special loads (Cor-Bon +P .38 spl 125 gr JHP) or low recoil .357 loads like the Remington Medium Velocity 125 gr JHP or a lighter, faster 110 grain JHP? I have no experience firing .357 Mags, just .38 specials, so I'm concerned about recoil/accuracy. (the gun is for home defense only) Thanks!

It is a fine weapon. I have owned mine for a couple of years now. It is the wife's gun and is shown in the picture.

My wife shoots this gun better than I do with .38 +P in whatever flavor you choose, but she especially likes the Federal FBI Load (158 grain LSWHP +P).