Ratchets With Lowest Back Drag ?

It seems that Koken makes low back drag (aka backlash) a design priority. They have recently released a new 72T ratchet wrench.

I have no experience with Koken ratchets or sockets, so can't say anything about their strength or durability.

Anybody here have experience with them? Koken tools seem to be reasonably priced, well below Snap-On.

The patented design of the 72T combines the low backlash, small size, and has a 10% higher torque limit in comparison to the 36 tooth ratchet. The legacy 36 tooth ratchets move 10°/click. The new 72 tooth ratchets move 5°/click.

The design changes include moving from the single pawl of the 36 tooth design to the patented dual pawl of the 72 tooth design. The dual pawl 72 tooth design utilizes a single spring. We took four years of testing to perfect the low spring pressure needed to maintain Ko-ken's hallmark low-torque backlash. The finer 72 teeth design creates more surface area contact with the gear; thus, it has a 10% higher torque upper limit.

The 72T is being released in the Z-Series 3/8" ratchets only in 2021. We will be releasing the 72T in ¼" and ½" sizes, without compromising the body sizes and low backlash as our testing allows. Look for more new product releases in 2022.

There was more backlash due to the fit of the socket on the bolt and on the ratchet drive, than in the ratchet itself, in the few I looked at.

When Koken talks about backlash, I think they really mean "back drag" or "reversing drag", and not backlash clearance (as in a R&P gear set).

Look at the 72 tooth round head for $66. They really are a thing of beauty and incredibly well made with a perfect fit and finish. They are ideal for the professional tool polisher.

Looking through some I have the best one is a Kobalt gearless, no back drag I can detect. They had cleared them out and I got two.The Wright seems like it has almost no back drag, but none is some. I don’t get calling lash drag, but what do I know.