Oiling tools

Status
Not open for further replies.

JHZR2

Staff member
Took a while, but the last few nights I've been cleaning and oiling most of my hand tools.

Still haven't done sockets yet, or anything chromed/highly polished. Yet.

Been using ballistol on a rag. I've got plenty of it and I like that it's not toxic/pharmaceutical grade so ok for incidental contact. If not as good as motor oil or other products, so be it... But it's better than nothing.

My shop isn't conditioned, though I do have a dehumidifier to keep humidity below 65-ish percent. I have over time noted some surface rust on some items. Many tools are shellacked, so have some protection if those coatings aren't worn off.

Honestly I've never done it before, which isn't a good thing, but is what it is. Does anyone proactively wipe/protect their tools?

On occasion, just my impact sockets at home- since they are rarely used. The chromed tools are fine and anything I have at the shop (work) is used too often to need protection.

I oil my tools a few times a year. I was using expensive rust preventatives like Corrosion-X and Eezox but that ended up being too expensive in the long run. I use my tools a lot so they all either end up getting dirty again or most of the oil wiped off just from me using them.

Now I use WD-40 because it is a pretty good general purpose crud cutter and rust preventer. WD-40 is also very cheap and smells nice. Works well enough for me.

After finding rust on some hand tools, I did this over the winter. Lowes has aerosol cans of Fluid Film now, so that's handy.

313SjdNKf4L.jpg