Newbie here and GM AFM lifters

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone!...first post on here. I've learned a lot here prior to becoming a new member and thank all of you for that. I'm 47 years old and have built/re-built probably 50 engines in my life - half street, half marine. Some hi-perf, some stock. (Just some background, not a pro NASCAR builder by any means
wink.gif

I currently have a 2011 Silverado C/C 4x4 with the LC9 5.3L aluminum engine that I bought in May with literally 43 miles on it after I put 40 on it test driving. Previously I had a new 2007 Tahoe (115 miles off lot) with the iron block 5.3 engine. I can honestly say I was terribly disappointed how both of these engines sounded after only 500 hundred miles on the engines on factory-fill oil and easy/moderate driving after the oil was warm, and varying rpms during break-in. TICK, TICK, TICK, so loud I could hear the lifters from 25 feet away while idling and hot. Like the old mechanical cams. Both were dead quiet when cold.

I don't want to be overbearing and wear out any welcome or cause problems. Is anyone interested how I got my hot-ticking to go away? This following vid is not my truck but sounds exactly like my new 2011 did. This 2011 Z71 truck has a little over 1k miles on it (catch his dash reading in the vid )and he's obviously not very happy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IvqkNnjS2c&feature=related

I also have no affiliation with any oil companies...just seat of the pants....and ears. I hate noisy engines. The point of this post is how to help you guys with the same situation I had.

Great site Bob oil guy! And again thanks to you all!

Jim