Motorcraft FL793 or WIX 5148 or Bosch Premium 3330

Status
Not open for further replies.
3 options... You pick! -- Motorcraft FL793 or WIX 5148 or Bosch Premium 3330

I've been using Purolator for a couple of years now, but BITOG has convinced me otherwise for the time being. What's my best bet? I don't run more than 5k OCI's.

If you are wanting to get away from purolator, the WIX. IMO it is not only the better filter.. Motorcraft, and Bosch are still purolator filters.. I have moved to the Fram TG for my app.

Thanks for the feedback, I'm currently running a Fram Ultra but $9 ($7 at RockAuto) at Walmart is pushing it considering I won't run it more than 5k miles. But point taken about being able to run it for 2 OCI's.

Yeah, I had read Motorcraft was made by Purolator but it seems it doesn't suffer from the pleats ripping, etc. Didn't know Bosch was also made by Purolator.

The Puro issues have not been seen on Motorcrafts, but unless you are getting an "S" series Motorcraft it's not much more than a glorified Classic.

Wix would be the best choice IMO.

Can you actually find that motorcraft filter? I never could when I had my neon( these are all **3614 equivalents), but, if you have the room, the readily available (and cheap) Fl-400s is a longer 3614. (Crosses to a **3600)

I gave away several of those wix & Bosch filters when I sold the neon.

Given those choices though, if buying today,put me down as another vote for Wix.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: hypervish

Yeah, I had read Motorcraft was made by Purolator but it seems it doesn't suffer from the pleats ripping, etc. Didn't know Bosch was also made by Purolator.

If its a made in the USA Bosch, or Mann, its made by Purolator.
Until last year, puro was a 50/50 joint venture between Bosch and Mann. Last year Bosch left the arrangement, leaving Purolator a subsidiary of Mann-Hummel.

Now Some folks are speculating if Bosch knew something was awry at Purolator, and just got out while they could...