Wix = Nominal (50%) at 21 microns? (Corvette LT1 Filter Options)

I've been reviewing the oil filter options for my 1992 Lingenfelter Corvette, I know a lot of people swear by Wix filters, but I was surprised that the Wix was listed as Nominal at 21um. It seems like this drops Wix to the bottom the options - unless I'm missing something?

Corvette LT1 Engine:

FRAM 3980 99%@20um​
Bosch 3430 99%@20um​
Mobil 1 M1-201A 99%@30um​
Wix 51036 50%@21um
AC-Delco PF52E 98%@20-30um (hard to find, this was on one retailer site - is it correct?)
K&N HP-2001 ? (seems impossible to find current info)​
Purolator Boss PBL24011 99%@25um​

wix.jpg

Yes, remove Wix from the list if you want good filtering. Been that way for a long time.
95% efficiency @ 20um is pretty good though - right?

@drtyler wrote "Beta ratio of 2/20 = 6/20 translates to 50% efficiency @ 6um and 95% efficiency @ 20um."

95% efficiency @ 20um is pretty good though - right?

@drtyler wrote "Beta ratio of 2/20 = 6/20 translates to 50% efficiency @ 6um and 95% efficiency @ 20um."
It's on par with a standard filter. If you can get a Tough Guard or Pure One for around the same price why mess with less filtering. I run a wix coolant filter so I'm not knocking them on everything but then again I don't need great filtering on coolant system.

Even standard Purolator is 96.5%@20

Beta ratio of 2/20 = 6/20 translates to 50% efficiency @ 6um and 95% efficiency @ 20um.
+1 ... The Wix "Nominal Micron Rating" doesn't agree with their beta efficiency rating. Nobody has been able to find out what their "Nominal" rating really means. Wix seems to make up their own definitions, so their "nominal" may be more like "absolute", which would correlate better to their beta info.

It's also likely that neither their beta ratio nor nominal micron rating is accurate for your particular filter as Wix white washes both figures. Wix has never really been known for high filtration efficiency.

Let me add a few

AC Delco UPF52R