How long does it take to get good with a manual transmission?

I've been driving for about 12 years. Covered plenty of miles, with many different types of vehicles, in all kinds of traffic, roads, and situations. From Wranglers, to Minivans, to F-150's, to RAMs, to Corollas, Altimas, etc. But... I've only ever driven automatic.

Well...I bought a brand new WRX with a manual transmission. Needless to say, I've never felt more emasculated in my life. I've driven it about 3 days and put about 60 miles on it. For the life of me I can't master clutch control. It's always either too much gas or not enough, or I miss the friction point. Always a clunky start, with a jerky shift... and that's good because it means I haven't stalled it...

Feels like I'll never get good. I've only been driving it on the weekend on isolated country back roads. I refuse to commute or drive it in general traffic until I can drive it like I do any other car. It's honestly been very a demotivating, disheartening, and disappointing experience for me. Feel like an idiot through and through.

You'll get the hang of it in no time. Like you, I purchased a manual tranny car in 1995 (1988 Mazda B2200) never having driven one in my life. I didn't take long at all to master the third pedal. As of now, I've probably put a half million miles on manual tranny automobiles. Much of that being in the awful Bay Area traffic!

Last edited:
It takes more than 3 days.

I felt very discouraged during the first week, but practice makes perfect. I felt pretty comfortable in most situations after a couple weeks.

Depends upon the car. Tried many times on an Acura integra that a friend had. Couldn't master it. Bought my 91 bmw, got it in a day. A few stalls, but just went out driving after a few tries on the street and it was easy. Incidentally, my brother learned on the same car, same clutch. All original when I sold it with 188k.