Engineers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an engineer and work in an office full of em. None of them are into cars though. My neighbor a couple cubes over says that his daughter ruined the engine on her Camry. Turns out it ran out of oil? Changed it 5k ago and does not understand how it could run out?!?! So, I started asking my neighboring engineers if they ever check oil and a few of them don't ever check it. Just change it. Some are 3k jiffy lubers and some 5kers and some are "whatever the mfg says". Go ahead ans slam my coworkers if you want, but they really are nice people and smart too.

I think cars are just too reliable these days, so noone checks anything.

Just because someone is an engineer doesn't automatically imply they're an expert on every subject or have common sense. One may be able to solve partial differential equations and yet not know how to change a tire. E.g., Steven Hawking versus Smokey Yunick.

My priest drinks.
cheers.gif

I wouldn't say it's unusual, unless these engineers are somehow involved in maintenance and reliability of mechanical equipment!

My lawyer gets high.

We have a member in my family who has a PHD in Physics. Worked on the missile defense system and now teaches at a University. I found out about a month ago he runs Amsoil but never changes/checks it for 25k miles. LOL. I'd love to get a sample of that! Very smart guy in a analytical sense.

Well, I worked for several years with engineers, even though I'm not one. They were great people. My only complaint was, they always wanted to have meetings, analyze, and talk about stuff. I don't know how that plays into checking or not checking the engine oil, but just my observations.
smile.gif