Toyota Tacoma and Tundra

Status
Not open for further replies.
Both models hold their value. If I didn't have a towing requirement, I'd be all over a Taco. But, it's been a great truck. It's reliable and easy to work on, and at 150,000 still tows heavy loads well without missing a beat. I prefer the older models style-wise - I have been solidly against the "look at me" styling of the newer models, across all of the oems. We plan to take this one to 200,000 miles, with towing, and will evaluate then whether we should replace or just keep using it. If it will work for us then, I'll look at a Taco, and that diesel colorado. Tundra needs to "lose some weight" before I give it a serious look in the future. If I have to stay fullsize, I'll be looking at the F150 first for MPG and we'll see where the Tundra stands. I have nothing against GM, but the off-center steering wheel and dash just drives me nuts - can't do that.

I'm an easy driver, my commute is a smooth 45-50 mph, 15 mile drive. I don't run the A/C much. Mine is a 2wd. I'm lucky to see 16MPG. It is a thirsty little pig, and I will absolutely consider MPG when buying next. $ will go back up, and even if it doesn't, it's just dumb to waste it.

-m

Have you sat in a Tacoma? I do not like their seating position. Very uncomfortable for me. The Tundra however felt nice. I do not own either but was at a dealer checking them out.

The third gen issues are pretty inflated on the internet, usually by second gen owners. If you check over at the Tacoma World forums you'll find plenty of people that are perfectly happy with their 3rd gen Tacos (me included).

I too, looked at both the Tundra and the Tacoma. Most of the advice you have received so far is pretty spot on. I chose the Tacoma because I only needed relatively light towing ability and the Taco was more manageable in tight spots. I also had a great ownership experience years ago with a 1988 Toyota pickup.