Catrol Edge Proffessional 5w40 VW 502

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work as an service writer at an Audi dealer and we use Castrol edge professional 5w40 VW 502 , I've been here since December. Still new to the brand. The OCI is 10,000 miles or 12 months which ever comes first. We've had multiple issues. There is a class action suit on pistons. And the Timing chains are stretching in the 2.0 TFSI engines. My question is I've seen about 100 engines torn down, both 2.0 and 3.0 3.2 and so on using this oil. Most the customers are going the specified intervals. But these engines look horrid and are having so many issues well even before 50,000 miles. Does anyone have experience with this oil? Are these intervals too long?

VW and the rest of the Vag group. are having huge timing chain problems in Europe too. They haven't made a good engine With a camchain the last 20 years.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: shDK
VW and the rest of the Vag group. are having huge timing chain problems in Europe too. They haven't made a good engine With a camchain the last 20 years.
So you don't think its oil related? I'm just saying the rest of the inside of the engines just look so horrid, varnish, sludge the likes. What is the solution in Europe?

Wife's Q5 is on this dealer-provided Castrol 5w-40 regimen as well. She's now at 11K miles and getting ready for her second oil change.

I'm not even sure that more frequent oil changes would help much.

Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Wife's Q5 is on this dealer-provided Castrol 5w-40 regimen as well. She's now at 11K miles and getting ready for her second oil change.

I'm not even sure that more frequent oil changes would help much.

Really? Just doesn't seem like the factory fill performs as well as it should.

Originally Posted By: JHogan
Really? Just doesn't seem like the factory fill performs as well as it should.