What it's like to fly an airliner.

Astro14

$100 Site Donor
Staff member
Hey BITOG, the United threads keep getting shut down, but in those threads, questions have come up about what's it like to fly an airliner, or how airplanes work. As many of you know, I'm a pilot for United. Over the past 20 years with United, I've flown the 747, 757/767 and A-320. I was an instructor on the 747-400 and the 757/767

So, I would like to start a thread focused on the airplanes. Much like I did a few years ago with the F-14, here:

Please avoid the contentious aspects of airlines that have resulted in the closing of previous threads. Stick to the airplane questions, and I'll be happy to answer.

Here's a start from this morning:

Originally Posted By: PimTac
Mentioning the 757 reminded me of a flight I was on a few years ago out of Hong Kong. This was not United but Cathay Pacific. The aircraft took off and climbed at a pretty good angle. Having flown out of there a number of times this was new to me. That 757 was like a rocket. At around 3000 feet ( not sure exactly) the captain pulled back on the throttles and we experienced the sensation of stopping in mid air. It was very noticeable and then it started to feel like the plane was falling backwards. A few passengers screamed. One young girl a couple of rows ahead of us was crying.

That sudden change in forward motion was a very weird sensation. I wonder if that maneuver was as planned or unexpected for the flight deck crew as well?

OK - I'm pretty certain that I know what happened, but the explanation is technical, so bear with me...

Depending on weight, wind, runway length, terrain, weather, noise-abatement requirements, etc. we may use full power for takeoff. If we do, in a 757, it's pretty sporty. The airplane has great thrust/weight for an airliner.