What are your phobias?

A recent thread mentioned phobias and it made me think that I’ve developed two phobia’s in my later years.

As a private pilot, I have no fear of flying or generally of heights. I always want the window seat on a plane. But recently there seem to be be many TV commercials where people are free rock climbing or sitting on the edge of a cliff sightseeing. I can’t watch these, I have to turn away. There is tourist attraction out at the Grand Canyon,I believe, where you walk out over the canyon on a glass floor. Years ago no problem, but I don’t think I could do it now. I’d freeze up. But I’d take a helicopter ride over and down into the canyon in a minute.

My other one is really strange. I don’t like to see many small holes or indentations grouped close together. I’ve seen pictures of wood that was used by woodpeckers (I think) were they bored in holes and stored acorns in the indent. Photos of that wood makes me squirm and so does seeing or handling things like corncobs and sunflower flower heads after all the seeds are removed. Totally irrational but I can’t shake it.

I think we all have some irrational fears or phobia’s. Care to share yours?

Mine is being around people with multiphobias. BTW, a fear of holes in patterns is called trypophobia. My daughter is a coulrophobic. Can't go to the circus.

Who is John Galt?

Last edited:
Wasps. if i see one, i become extremely agitated. i was attacked by an entire underground nest when i was 15 picking up wild blueberries. a swarm of yellowjackets. my dad had to remove them. the experience traumatized me.