Wear protection ratings

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm a newbie here so I apologize if this topic has been beaten to death. I came across this while researching what oil would be best in my vehicle. I googled, "best motor oil to reduce wear" or something and this was one of the links provided.

https://540ratblog.wordpress.com/

It's a tub of information but if you skip to the wear rating portion it's pretty interesting. There is some very interesting stuff on there about zinc as well.

Originally Posted By: Nate1979
And that tub is full of something and it ain't information....

crackmeup2.gif

Originally Posted By: kinch1
Hi, I'm a newbie here so I apologize if this topic has been beaten to death. I came across this while researching what oil would be best in my vehicle. I googled, "best motor oil to reduce wear" or something and this was one of the links provided.

https://540ratblog.wordpress.com/

It's a tub of information but if you skip to the wear rating portion it's pretty interesting. There is some very interesting stuff on there about zinc as well.

Numerous long threads on here discussing those rankings and methodology. It could take you a couple hours to get through all the posts.

1. Their testing is done with a 1 arm bandit imparting a scuff on metal balls, often at very high temps....there's nothing in a car engine like that.
2. The zinc levels they found issues with were at the 1500-1700 ppm and higher levels. You won't find that in most regular passenger car motor oils....but typically in race and track car engines, especially those with flat tappets. Zinc levels in typical SN motor oils are more than adequate.