Verify integrity of quick connect hose attachment

JHZR2

Staff member
2013 F-250 super duty. Sees severe duty in tropical conditions.

Smelled coolant yesterday, today a heater hose came off. These ford trucks have been very robust, running hundreds of thousands of miles in severe terrain loaded to max, without issues. So I was a bit surprised by this.

I think it was just a quick connect came loose, why? Dont know. But I also don’t know if it should have a positive click or what. I assume there’s an Oring that needs to be changed when these connections come off. Is that a requirement every time?

IMG_7907.jpeg
IMG_7908.jpeg
IMG_7909.jpeg

Last edited:
If that's the upper hose then it's completely broken. There's supposed to be another plastic piece with the wire retainer on it and that might still be stuck to the radiator.

I'm not a Ford mechanic and I'm just commenting based on internet photos and data.

1693320748947.jpg

If that's the upper hose then it's completely broken. There's supposed to be another plastic piece with the wire retainer on it and that might still be stuck to the radiator.

I'm not a Ford mechanic and I'm just commenting based on internet photos and data.

View attachment 175695
It is connected to a white nipple at the firewall going to the firewall. Not to the radiator. There is a second connector (return from heater core) that looks exactly the same so I don’t think anything is missing.

I just need to know how to verify that it is properly connected since nothing seems to click or give a positive response when it is pushed back on.

my BMW uses hoses like this and the wire retainer on the female hose clips over a retainer lip on the male section. Once it clicks in place there's no mistaking that it's attached.

You appear to be missing the outer white plastic retainer ring as shown starting at 1:00 minute mark of this video.

You’re right. Thanks.

Found the image on Rockauto.

IMG_7913.jpeg

I see the white part on the hose.