Sam's Club Fuel

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know Sam's Club does not have a Top Tier rating on their gasoline like Costco but does anyone on this board know anything about it? Is it just another cheapo gasoline with the bare minimum of additive to meet federal specs or is there something that makes it a bit better? I always use Exxon as it is Top Tier but I see the price difference is enough to be tempting!

More than likely, it is just EPA-minimum detergent gas. I inquired to them about that once, and that was their answer. They do guarantee it, though.
I have no problem using it if the price is right! If you're concerned maybe just throw some Techron in once a year or so.

Don't know about additive levels - but I do know it's fresh! There's almost always a que...

I have been using it almost exclusively for over 5 years. Never have had any problems with it. Ours does not have any ethanol showing present on the pump.

Does KY require stations to indicate if there may be ethanol in the fuel ? Some states do, maybe KY doesn't. I'd be very surprised if their fuel doesn't include some ethanol.

Let's not confuse price vs cost!
The price may be less but the cost will be higher!
As TmanP said the additives are less, therefore more likely to have deposits on valves, valve-seats, piston heads etc. If you only keep the car for a couple of years that won't matter, but will matter and cost you more than what you've saved if you need to decarbonize the motor & its parts.

Originally Posted by Pelican
Let's not confuse price vs cost!
The price may be less but the cost will be higher!
As TmanP said the additives are less, therefore more likely to have deposits on valves, valve-seats, piston heads etc. If you only keep the car for a couple of years that won't matter, but will matter and cost you more than what you've saved if you need to decarbonize the motor & its parts.