Random Orbital polisher

Status
Not open for further replies.
What do you think of that 10-inch Random Orbital polisher / waxer at Harbor Freight that's available for $25 right now? It even comes with a terry bonnet. The machine is made of orange plastic. It might be just the thing for a total novice like myself. Do you think it's made with good enough quality? Should I buy it, or look for a more expensive model at some other store? If the latter, which store?

all that is really good for is spreading on waxes, and taking them off. No real corrective action will come from it if you use a compound, scratch remover, etc...

For corrective action you need a Porter Cable 7424, Meguiars G110, Flex

The one you mention will work again for just putting on and taking off lsp (last step products)

I have a similar quality model from walmart. O2 is right, it's really only good for spreading on waxes and saving your arm a bit. I don't use it to take anything off.

I once bought a used Civic bumper, and used it with some 3M finish restorer IIRC, better than rubbing by hand but a better machine would have been a thousand times easier. I think I spent 45 minutes on it, with marginal results.

At least it's hard to screw anything up with them. Buy a few bonnets.

What amount of your time are you planning on dedicating on the condition of your paint?

A big 10 inch random orbit is only usable on large flat surfaces. The kind you are refering to is basicly like your hand only faster but you have to use virtually no pressure at all and let the unit do all the work. When the buffer starts spinning the orbit ends up closer to 15-20 inches so its not going to fit in any tight spaces. I have this one, its a fun little toy.

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00910723000P#descriptionAnchor