PP mileage question , NO I'm not a Newbie lol

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys. I haven't logged in since the last K-Mart $4/gal deal a couple of months ago lol. I have so much oil, I really haven't been looking for deal...I haven't been bitten by the "stash" bug. Anyway to my question and I need some clarity on this.

My GS has 113k; I purchased it in May/11 with 78k. I used to do a lot of commuting when I was living in Alabama (around 75 miles per day). Since moving from Alabama (5/12) to Houston, I've put 4800 miles on my car to date. 800 of those miles was the drive to Houston. I've been blessed to find a great job near the River Oaks area and I live 10-15 minutes away which is great...no more commuting, well until I look for a home!

Before I moved to Houston, I changed the oil and put PP and used a Fram XG filter. My question is, will ths oil last between 7-8k oci with approx. 80% city driving and 20% highway? This engine is the I-6 and I've added about .5 qt of syn oil during this time frame. I typically don't use the highway in Houston until the weekend. I'm new to syn oil and I know that PP is a great oil, but I'm typically just a dino 5k oci guy. Even my stash I picked up from K-Mart is mostly dino with a sprinkle of syn oil that I could find.

Any thoughts on this will be helpful. Side note...I really hate that I have all of this oil and no place to change it yet. I couldn't find a decent apt that had an attached garage, which sucks.

Not sure exactly what oil you have stocked up on, but as most of your driving is in city I would class your use as fairly near the severe service end of things. This means it would be best to change oil twice as often as recommended until a UOA proves you can increase the interval.
I've seen some bad UOA results from cars that are used mostly in town, even with a top quality fully synthetic oil, but if you do what I do and just change oil twice often it will offer much better protection to the engine.