Oscillating tools cutting screw - tools vs blades?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JHZR2

Staff member
I was helping someone with a project, and they had a dewalt cordless oscillating multi-tool. Pretty neat little gadget, and it had a unique blade change device... Unique enough that apparently you have to use dewalt or a few other brands' blades, not the universal ones....

I have a corded fein multi master.... A few years old, which I love. I've cut all sorts of stuff with it. But I didn't have it with me, so I was using this dewalt brushless tool with dewalt branded wood/metal blades.

I was trying to cut the ends off a few spax screws that were protruding out of the wood on the backside of something that was fastened. It wasn't visible, and didn't need a good finish, but we didn't want screw end points sticking out either.

Well, I couldn't cut the screws! I got one or two, and then the blade's teeth were more or less gone. Eventually I resorted to a cutoff wheel in a dremel, which made short work...

But it made me wonder... As I've never had issues cutting nails with my fein and with fein blades...

Does the actual OMT make much of a difference? I mean, it oscillates... But I'd suspect that speed and arc length differences could create variability.

What about blades? I've primarily used Bosch and fein blades, though I've used some third world blades on wood...I've found the fein blades to last really well.. Was the dewalt blade a dud?

Trying to understand what the issue was since I don't think cutting the ends off screws with an OMT and a new blade should be that tough...

Thanks!

I have used Dewalt jig saw blades in my Bosch jig saw and have found them to be inferior to genuine Bosch and even some other less expensive brands.

I have never found any oscillating tool blade to last very long at all, but I have never tried Fein.
My last batch of blades were Kent cheapies, they don't last long either, but they are not too bad for the money.