Mobil 1 5w-30 - 02 Honda Civic Si, 5000 miless

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am still very new at reading UOAs, so I thought that some of you veterenans can help me out.

Test performed by MTM Industrial

10w30 Chevron Supreme --5w30 Mobil 1
Miles on unit: 10170 --15056
Miles on oil: 5072 --4886
Filter: Honda Fram --Honda Fram

Fe - 8 --2
Cr - 1 --0
Al - 8 --5
Cu - 15 --5
Pb - 4 --0
Tin - 0 --0
Si - 40 --15
Na - 10 --11
K - 5 --0

water - Oxidation - 6.3 --10.8
Visc@100- - 13.7 --13.0
Glycol- none --none
Fuel - Nitration - 4.3 --4.9
Sae-
Driving- Four 3 mile trips to work uphill, everyday. 50% highway 80-85 mph for 350 miles, 4000rpm+, Redline at least once a week. Oil ran from 3/2003-7/2003 in 60-85 degree weather.

My only concern is why the oil thickened up so much. I though M1 was tends to be on the thin side? The previous oil also seemed really thick, so maybe it is the lab
dunno.gif
Let me know what you think.
Thanks

That is strange that it would thicken up, since M1 5w30 doesn't usually do that in just 5k.

Wear numbers are awesome though! 2ppm of iron and 0ppm of lead, holy cow! I just hope it isn't a lab screwup, as the oxidation/nitration numbers seem a bit unbelieveable too. And where are the rest of the numbers? (Zinc, Phos, Moly, Calcium, magnesium, etc)

Surprise, nice report. I think the biggest difference between the two oils is the fact that the engine is still very new. That Chevron looks like it is was showing a lot of break-in contaminents.

But your car definitely seems to like Mobil 1.
smile.gif

--- Bror Jace

I have never seen Mobil thicken to that extent. I am very suspicious of the viscosity. Also wondering about the silicon#. Probably related to the newness of the vehicle. Probably not a totally fair comparison. I would like to see a repeat of the Chevron
smile.gif

One other point..Go with the 10W-30 M1 .Very very few reports on 10W-30.

[ July 07, 2003, 03:47 PM: Message edited by: Al ]

Call me crazy...