MARVEL MYSTERY OIL in an SS cobalt?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am driving an SS cobalt that has had the oil changed with 5w-30 Royal Purple since about 30k miles (that's when I bought it). My question is, first off this car takes 6.5 quarts of oil so how much should I replace with MMO? Also I know to put some in the gas tank too, but should the MMO be added to every oil change as it is added to every fill up? Any help on this would be great seeing as I am new to the idea of MMO. Thanks.

IMO MMO in fuel is not to be done regularily, just a couple times a year at most. MMO in oil, maybe in the winter, and then only the last 2K or 3k miles. The aromatic hydrocarbon chlorine molecule looks pretty stable but over all this driving and moisture getting in the oil possibly, one worries about corrosive stuff like H Cl or so forming.

I've always been skeptical about oil and fuel additives: if the additives worked the wonders they proclaim, major oil and gasoline companies would be scrambling to use them in their mixtures. Most additives seem to be a waste of money.

That said, the Marvel website states the following: "Marvel recommends using 4oz of MMO for every 10 gallons of gasoline." and "Marvel recommends replacing between 10 and 25 percent of your motor oil with MMO. For example, if the crankcase capacity is 5-quarts, add 4 quarts of your favorite motor oil and one quart of Marvel Mystery Oil."

Originally Posted By: jayno20
I am driving an SS cobalt that has had the oil changed with 5w-30 Royal Purple since about 30k miles (that's when I bought it). My question is, first off this car takes 6.5 quarts of oil so how much should I replace with MMO? Also I know to put some in the gas tank too, but should the MMO be added to every oil change as it is added to every fill up? Any help on this would be great seeing as I am new to the idea of MMO. Thanks.