looking to get a pair of logger boots

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm looking to try a pair of logger boots for my work boots, and if I like them, maybe get a second pair for wearing outside of work. I work as a diesel mechanic, so I spend all day on my feet, on concrete. I've been told the higher heels help with posture and can even help back pain and heel pain, all of which I have problems with. I don't really need a steel toe or even water proofing, but one of my questions does concern thinsulate. Most of the boots I've found have it, and while it would be nice in the winter, I'm worried about my feet being to hot in the summer. Does any one brand breathe better than the others? Am I on the right track looking at loggers? There is a store near me that sells red wing, Carolina, wolverine, Irish setter, Chippewa, golden retriever, double h, and timberland pro, and they sell loggers from all those brands. I've always sworn by my timberland pros, for both comfort and durability, but have always wanted to try red wings as well, just afraid to leave what I know. I did try the wolverines on, liked them ok, but it was right before closing and I didn't wanna rush into a decision. I've heard the chippewas are supposed to be great as well. Any suggestions? I'm looking to stay in the $150-$200 range

Buy what's comfortable. The name on the boot isn't a big deal, really. All of the brands you listed are good. Worth noting is that Irish Setter is Red Wing's value brand. Check out Georgia Boot too, if you can.

I'd say that a Goodyear welt is preferable, and that you should NOT get Thinsulate unless you will ONLY be wearing them in the winter. Remember, you can always wear warm/thick socks in the winter.