Just a question about filters

Status
Not open for further replies.
Why do you use an after market filter and not the OEM filter? What experience/data shows you that the OEM filter is not the best to use? One bad experience with a Fram has me using OEM for over 30 years. TIA

Originally Posted By: vweosdriver
What experience/data shows you that the OEM filter is not the best to use?

I have no such experience/data, hence I use OEM filters. I haven't heard anything bad about Mann/Mahle.

Most OEM filters are probably pretty good ... but, it seems as time goes on some of the OEM filters are becoming cheaper in construction and the cost is usually just as much or more than a really good aftermarket filter.

When independent testers include OEM filters, I really don't recall any of them being noticeably better than your average aftermarket filter.

Toyota, Ford, and AC Delco (GM) used to have really good filters. now it seems that only the Motorcraft (Ford) is a good filter. the others have cheapened, so I prefer to use a better filter to protect my engines.

Information, or lack of it. You will not find any ratings for OEMs. I use often OEMs but it bugs me I can't data on them.

aftermarket has a better price, better filter media, and more filter media. and OEM is a fram variant.
wink.gif

I always use Nissan oil filters. They`re huge and heavy!!!!!!! Plus they only cost $6.

What`s the consensus on the best aftermarket filters? When I was at a nascar race,we had pit passes and the pits were full of Wix oil filters. I`m guessing Wix is among the best?

Originally Posted By: aquariuscsm
I always use Nissan oil filters. They`re huge and heavy!!!!!!! Plus they only cost $6.

What`s the consensus on the best aftermarket filters? When I was at a nascar race,we had pit passes and the pits were full of Wix oil filters. I`m guessing Wix is among the best?