Jeep Wrangler 2.0T Rental

dishdude

$100 Site Donor 2023
I'm in a Wrangler rental and this is my first time driving one with the 2.0T engine and it is impressive! I could hear the turbo under the hood but still popped the hood to confirm it wasn't the V6. It has a ton of low end power and no turbo lag. Also impressed with how comfortable the ride and seats are! I was cruising at 75 on the freeway and it was a lot quieter than you'd expect but was also surprisingly nice riding. Now the steering is another story, it required a little more correction and attention than I'm used to, and for that it isn't an effortless cruiser that will eat up miles on the highway, but for my 45 minute drive it was just fine.

A very fun vehicle, I can see why owners love them and why they sell for big money.

image_50419969.JPG

image_50459393.JPG

They did such a great job on the JL - it looks like such a better product (fit, finish) than the JK it replaced.

Only concern I have with the 2.0 is the coolant lines that run underneath. I'd be worried about ripping those off on a trail. Otherwise, it would be the powertrain of choice for me!

My neighbor really like his except when it rains. Apparently once the hard top is removed it will forever send drips into the cabin

The JL is an improvement over the JK, and the 2.0T is a good engine. With that said I can't say I'm impressed with the fit and finish of the couple I drove in, even compared to my 1998 TJ. I might be a bit biased, especially because my TJ isn't your run of the mill rusted out POS, it was a California garage queen, so everything is still pretty tight on it. The JL does have decent road manners for a Jeep, but for me it is hard to justify the price. I'm curious how well it will hold together in 5-6 years.

I wouldn't mind checking out a 2.0L crate engine. I'm sure I could find a way to mate it to granny low tranny. I used a GM 2.8L V6 bellhousing to mate the current Muncie SM420 to my trail Jeeps 2.5L AMC four popper.