GM Oil Life Monitor question.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Don't know which forum to put this one in.

My cousin recently visited me with her new (5 months old GMC SUV (Yukon), which now has 16,000 miles on it. The oil life monitor indicated "0% life" while we were driving to dinner.

Question. Anyone have any experience with these monitors, and how accurate they are? What would the danger be of driving with the oil life below, say 25%, 10% etc?

She wanted to wait until the next day to get the oil changed, in her city (approximately 70 miles away). I have no experience with these systems.

What would adding a little Lube Control do under such conditions? Anything? Can Lube Control be used in vehicles with oil life monitors, and does it interfere with the monitors readings. Would one of these vehicles be able to run the oil longer IF Lube Control was used from the beginning of the oil change cycle? Would adding LC once the oil life monitor read "0" change the reading?

Thanks in advance.

axjohn, the GM Oil Life Monitor is a computer program that adjusts the "Oil Life" percentage based on many parameters, including time, trip duration, temperature, etc. It does NOT actually analyse the oil in the crankcase. Once it is started back at 100%, the clock starts ticking, so to speak. A lot of time and research has been spent on making the system accurate.

That being said, I am running my wifes 2004 2.2L EcoTech powered Malibu on Amsoil 5W30, and plan on changing the oil at 0%. It is reading about 24% as of yesterday at about 7500 miles.

I forgot to reset it on my Duramax with my last change to Rotella T Syn 5W40, so I will just change it out at 7500 miles, or so. It has gone over 10K before reading "Change Oil" in the past. I have the dumb system on my truck, it does not read percentage, just tells when it needs to be changed.

GM's oil life monitor is a wonderful system that uses multiple parameters to estimate oil life. The only thing more accurate is a UOA.