Glock cleaning solution

Status
Not open for further replies.
I should add that some folks "dunk" their Glocks in cleaning solutions like Slip 2000 to clean them. I haven't tried this, so I don't know how effective it is.

I don't use soap but I do use hot running water and a toothbrush on a detail stripped slide and frame. I use running hot water and a .40 caliber phosphor bronze bore brush on my 9mm barrel. My barrel is spotless inside, and I've been doing this for a couple years with no ill effects. The hotter the water the faster it evaporates. Use compressed air to blow the rest off before re-lubing with Mobil-1 15w-50.

Non-chlorinated brake cleaner is a great fouling remover as well, but it strips all lubrucation and can damage some plastics. Carburetor cleaner is great on stubborn carbon fouling in your barrel but it is even more harsh on plastic than brake cleaner is, and it leaves a bit of white powdery residue.

My biggest problem with my Glock is that I don't have any time/place to shoot it anymore. There is an indoor range in the city where I work, but it's usually packed with people.

I miss living out in the sticks where I could shoot in my back yard. Seeing as how I now live in the city in a 19-unit condominium complex, my neighbors might not like it if I decided to shoot in my back yard.
wink.gif

Soak in Naphtha (Coleman Lantern fuel) and reoil with Purple Problem Solver . Neither affect plastics or finishes.

I'm a factory certified armorer for Remington, SIG, and Glock and I'd like to know just what in the **** loads you're shooting that you believe you need lantern fuel, carburetor cleaner, and/or brake cleaner to get the firearm "clean?"

Uh, I just checked my "firin pin" and I can easily see that no seizure is imminent!

You boys shooting lead bullets or reloads, by chance?

dk,

Now don't get your firin' pin all siezed up.
biggthumbcoffe.gif

I have no idea what loads "wavin" is using.