Getting a loan for a condo, as a student

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a 24-yr old graduate student, planning to graduate in 2012 with my doctorate in pharmacy (to become a pharmacist - pay is about 100-120k/year). Next year I'll be moving to Arizona for my final year of school to do my clinical rotations. I plan on settling in AZ permanently. Thus, I'd like to buy a condo next summer. I'm tired of renting an apartment - I essentially throw my money down a black hole cuz being a renter, I get NO return on this investment. I have looked at condos and the ones that interest me run 60-100k for 2-bedrooms/2-bath, 1000-1200 sq ft.

I have 6 years of really good credit. Last I checked my score was a 760 or 765 if I remember correctly. I'm concerned about getting rejected for a loan cuz I'm not working right now with this full-time courseload and I'll graduate with about 25k in student loans. My parents seem hesitant to co-sign cuz they want me to wait until I am finished with school to buy property but I desperately want to take advantage of how Arizona property values have hit rock bottom and again, I am tired of wasting my money renting an apartment that has no return on investment. I even calculated my monthly payments would be LESS for a 20-30 yr loan on a condo than they would be for renting an apartment.

Think I'd qualify for a loan? Any advice? Thanks!

Originally Posted By: Chuck1986
I have looked at condos and the ones that interest me run 60-100k for 2-bedrooms/2-bath, 1000-1200 sq ft.
I'll graduate with about 25k in student loans. My parents seem hesitant to co-sign cuz they want me to wait until I am finished with school to buy property but I desperately want to take advantage of how Arizona property values have hit rock bottom and again

I agree with your parents. With a student loan, and the fact that you do not yet have a job..bad idea IMHO. Bear in mind there is no guarantee that we are at the bottom of this thing.