GC 0W-30, 98 Accord V-6, 6700 miles

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Morning,
I thought I would post my UOA report for your review. I’m using GC 0W-30. I’m using an Amsoil air filter. I have 88700 miles on the Accord.
I have 6700 miles on the oil. This is my first time running GC. I’m also using an Amsoil SDF-36 oil filter.
code:

Amsoil GC

0W-30 0W-30

5100 mi. 6700 mi.

iron 9 17

chromium 1 1

lead 3 6

copper 15 9

tin 0 0

aluminum 2 2

nickel 0 0

silver 0 0

silicon 13 9

boron 39 4

sodium 7 4

magnesium 671 259

calcium 1681 2345

barium 0 0

phosphorus 1146 941

zinc 1485 1003

molybdendum 7 2

titanium 0 0

vanadium 0 0

potasium 0 0

fuel < 1
viscosity @ 100 c 11.25
water 0
glycol neg

Thanks for you input.
Kirk

Not bad, but a bit dissapointing compared to the Amsoil. Does this vehicle call for 5W-20?

Rick

This looks very good, IMO. Considering that some VOAs of GC 0w-30 showed as much as 9ppm of Iron to begin with, the 17ppm iron in your UOA doesn't look bad at all, even compared to Amsoil, especially that you kept the GC for 1600 miles longer.

What type of driving conditions (highway/city) were predominant on each of these oils?

EDIT: Oh yeah, and where is TBN?

Thanks for the info. Nice to see some more GC reports. Both reports are O.K. nice jto see your silicon down. Thanks for posting.

quote:

Originally posted by Quattro Pete:
Considering that some VOAs of GC 0w-30 showed as much as 9ppm of Iron to begin with

The iron number jumped out at first, so thanks for reminding us. Anyone have a guess with the lead? double the ppm in 20% more time. hmmm...

ferb!

quote:

The iron number jumped out at first, so thanks for reminding us. Anyone have a guess with the lead? double the ppm in 20% more time