Cylinder Balance Test using 12V Battery Data

I started playing with my new Picoscope 4425A and found a “cylinder balance test” in the included software program. This is a guided function that involves connecting leads to the 12V battery, cranking the engine and allowing it to idle, followed by selecting the number of cylinders and allowing the software to perform its analysis. Here is more info on the test:

https://www.picoauto.com/library/picoscope/cylinder-balance-misfire-detect

I am curious how battery/system voltage alone will allow a software program to determine cylinder balance. The software must be using differences in voltage drop to signify differences in compression between cylinders? I wonder if the test is as accurate as a relative compression test.

I assume it is measuring the delta in voltage, but I feel like a voltage regulator would mask at least a portion of what the test is looking for.

Would it not be helpful to have an input for the firing order and which cylinder is firing at any given time? From the link, it looks like it just assigns cylinders a bar graph value.

I would also wonder how much exhaust gas scavenging would factor in and how per-cylinder AFR's and EGT's affect the test.

Seems like a novel feature and I suppose this test is more intended to yield a Yes/No answer for the question of "Do I have a hurt cylinder?" I can also see how this could be helpful to diagnose a transverse V6 or V8 where one bank is not as accessible.

I started playing with my new Picoscope 4425A and found a “cylinder balance test” in the included software program. This is a guided function that involves connecting leads to the 12V battery, cranking the engine and allowing it to idle, followed by selecting the number of cylinders and allowing the software to perform its analysis. Here is more info on the test: