Can oil vapors cause engine knock?

2019 Ram. 5.7 Hemi. 66k miles. Owned since new.

Or differently put, can it enhance the possibility

I feel the answer should be no, but right around the time i put in Amsoil SS 0w20, i started having issues. I have always used 89 octane, and always from a reputable station (BP, Mobil, and Shell), cleaners, and never had a problem in 5 years. Since, i have used cleaners, and made sure to strictly use top tier (Shell and Citgo) with no luck. So could the vapors from the pcv system and the Amsoil be giving me a problem? Seems silly but coincidences cant be overlooked. Going back to PUP next. Just something that popped in my head.

Last edited:
I have never heard of that happening. I doubt it but to be fair I am not an engineer.

I feel the answer should be no, but right around the time i put in Amsoil SS 0w20, i started having issues. I have always used 89 octane, and always from a reputable station (BP, Mobil, and Shell), cleaners, and never had a problem in 5 years. Since, i have used cleaners, and made sure to strictly use top tier (Shell and Citgo) with no luck. So could the vapors from the pcv system and the Amsoil be giving me a problem? Seems silly but coincidences cant be overlooked. Going back to PUP next. Just something that popped in my head.
Yes, if there is excessive blow by. Did the engine start using oil?

Oil does reduce octane but you have to be in the visible smoke range I would think. Same weight oil as before?

You'd have to have hecka consumption to cause a significant octane reduction. And if that's the case then you would have significant combustion chamber and piston deposits that would be far more likely to cause pre-ignition pinging.

Something on the order of this engine I worked on:

deposits.jpg