Autozone Duralast Max brake pads

Status
Not open for further replies.
My Fiesta ST's brake pads with almost 30k miles is making a light squeal when braking. It looks like the front and rears still have about half of the pad material left, but I might go ahead and change them anyways.

The OEM pads are very good, but also very high dusting. I would consider the OE pads, but the Motorcraft equivalent is reported not to be the exact same pads. Aftermarket performance pads are also pricey. The OE pads are very aggressive, and have worn a pretty noticeable groove into the rotor where they contact.

I'm currently looking at the Autozone Duralast Max metallic pads and Duralast rotors and the AAP equivalents. They're within $10 of each other. I've used the AAP pads and rotors on other cars and they work fine. I've never used the Autozone ones before. The thing with the AAP Platinum pads is that the last set I used were made in India. Probably not a big deal.

Anyone know if the Duralast Max metallics have a good initial bite? I don't mind brake dust if the pad is on the aggressive side like the OE, because quick stopping has saved my butt from the bad drivers around here more than once.

I use Duralast Gold pads on all my vehicles simply because they are ceramic. Most OE pads are semi-metallic and have brake dust. I never see brake dust with ceramic. Semi-matillac pads have more bite to them because of the metallic materials in the pads. If you are auto-crossing, semi-metallic may be better if you can deal with the brake dust. Also semi-metallics wear rotors faster.

I don't trust store-brand pads because you seldom know who made them and what kind of compound they are.